Cupcaking and Bread Making

October 3, 2010

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Filed under: Cupcakes — cupcakingandbreadmaking @ 4:55 pm

I just recently tried my first Red Velvet Cupcake. I still can’t determine what it actually “tastes” like. I remember when I was younger, the dyed color kind of freaked me out. But this past summer, I decided it was time for me to try something red velvet.

I instantly loved it. I’m not sure what about it I love, I just know I do.

This month is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and my school had a walk. We were also selling cupcakes to raise money and I decided to make red velvet  cupcakes. I attempted to make them pink… but it didn’t work out 😦

The color turned out more red-brown:

Baked and ready to be frosted!

Frosted and ready to be sprinkled 😉

Wooo!

I know they don’t look the best because I was too lazy to pipe them. But I used cream cheese frosting and the cream cheese wouldn’t smooth out completely 😦

But the cupcake tasted good overall.

I’m not sure if I will use this recipe again, but I did like it.

I also forgot what recipe I used…

But I do remember I used butter, not oil.

I can’t wait to make red velvet cupcakes next time!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

